Tags

, , , , , ,

At the start of the year I decided that I didn’t want to set some kind of unattainable New Years Resolutions. I didn’t want to stop doing anything or cut anything out only to set myself up for failure. Instead what I decided was that by the end of this year, 2016, I wanted to be in a position to sign up for the Haute Route in 2017.

It is now the end of the 3rd month of this year and I currently feel like shit.

That whole thing about not setting myself up for failure seems to have come true, probably some time around the start of this month.

January for me went well, I posted bigger numbers than I had previously. I was training at least 3 times/week. Two turbo sessions and at least once out on the road with a club run. At the time of writing this post, Strava is telling me that my last activity (yes I’ve been running too) was 25 days ago.

Here are my goals for this year:

  • 225 hrs (including turbo sessions)
  • 4,750 km (including turbo sessions)
  • 3,500 m/month climbing on average
  • Complete the London Surrey 100 in under 6 hours

So far at the end of month 3 I have completed the following:

  • 45 hrs – below target
  • 1,149 km – just below target
  • 2,930 m/month average – below target

My longest ride so far this year has been just over 100 km. I’ve completed 2 100 km+ rides which is pretty good for this time of year in my opinion. However, I have not trained anywhere near the volume I wanted to be training.

I have been facing a heavy workload as well as taking on tutoring after work during the week which has severely limited my time. Not only that but the last two weeks I’ve been struck down by the most horrendous illness. I don’t know if it is flu as a I refuse to go to the doctor and I don’t like to exaggerate my illness (Yes, I’m a man and am sometimes prone to bouts of “man-flu” but this is something far worse).

I know that I need to get back on track with my evening turbo sessions and also getting out at the weekends but it is increasingly difficult with being a teacher.

I hope that the two week Easter break will give me enough time to rest and fully recover and go back into April with a new found energy to smash my goals for the last 9 months of this year.

One thing I can be pleased with is my weight loss. I started off the year, following quite an enjoyable Christmas period weighing in at 12.5 st (79 kg) and now weigh 12 st (76 kg). Not a huge loss but I am aiming to get down to 11.5 st (73 kg) so I don’t have far to go.

I would love to hear from any other teachers who count cycling as their main hobby outside of the classroom and hear how they cope with the challenge of balancing working, training and a life.

 

The History Teacher

